Planting Starts…

I’ve planted the 3rd bed (in the picture the one at the front) from left to right with carrots, beetroot, leeks, onions, Hamburg parsely and parsnips.

The 2nd bed will be planted tomorrow with broccoli, red cabbage, savoy cabbage, brussel sprouts, kohlrabi and swede.

If I get to it tomorrow, the first bed will be planted with pole beans, bush beans, peas, and ice lettuces.

The tomatoes, aubergines, peppers, zuccini, cucumbers and pumpkin have to wait until I’ve dug their beds, but they have been enjoying the sun this week on my terrace in their pots.

This week I was down in the orchard cutting back the blackberry invasion on the fence and trimming dead branches and removing a rather large watersprout on my Abate Fetel pear that I had left there to see if it flowered. It didn’t and looked rather sickly. Unfortunately I don’t know the rootstock this pear was grafted on, but it would have had to be standard material.

I have grown now standard and halfs on this property and farmers in this area grow bushes. It’s pear growing soil, so what’s up with this Abate? I don’t know…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.